2023 / 09 - MY GOALS FOR THE YEAR

It's my birthday month and time for reflection =)

This month’s newsletter is going to be different from my previous issues, taking a more personal tone and a stock take of my practice over the last year.

Firstly, thank you all for bearing with me on this.

Secondly, I hope this will give you a bit of an insight of an example of a writer trying to maintain a sustainable creative career while still holding down a day job and other aspects of life.

Reflection on the Last Year

Since last year’s job break to focus on my creative practice, I have gone back to another day job after drafting and structuring a few manuscripts.

While there were periods of uncertainty and unwanted worries, there were still many lessons in focus, staying authentic to myself as a creator, and the fact that we always have something to learn. Especially so when you finally find a niche that you align with.

And when I was struggling to find myself as a creator, having the time and support to reflect on these points really helped:

  • That I am not my work

  • That my niche as a creator, first and foremost, needs to be something I align with in the first place

With that, I am grateful for the opportunity to finally find a niche (storytelling & puzzle experiences) that I am comfortable and can expand with.

Reiteration of my Goals

No-Zero Days aside, daily practice cannot account for much if I cannot keep track of what I’m working towards. At least for this year. So before the end of my 35th year, here’s a broad overview of what I want to share with all of you:

  • Drafts! - While I’m sticking to my challenge of attempting the traditional route for at least one of my manuscripts, it’s always good practice to keep at my drafts. So whether it’s Madeline Law, Ying from Admin Control, or someone from my game book in progress, there’s still going to be manuscripts.

  • Community - I’m definitely building something, but let’s start with baby steps. Stay tuned!

  • Knowledge Sharing - Void Deck Writer will definitely be continuing into the next year, with a shift in theme once 2024 starts. Hint: We already have a great number of newsletters talking about micro practices - so we might have to go bigger.

Moving Forward

As I turn another year older, my plans for my creative career start sounding like pillars. LOL. Therefore, here are some things to look out for in the future:

  • The Library of Exchanges is becoming the central universe around which many of my canon works revolve around, so stay tuned!

  • Watch out for any plans for starting write-ins again - online or otherwise.

  • And of course, more tips are definitely coming through VoidDeckWriter Issues.

I hope you will be able to glean something helpful from my reflections moving forward as well!

Thank You!

And that’s it from me this round! If you like what you’re seeing, have any questions about publishing that you would like me to look at, or just want to say hi, do drop me a comment or send me a message. I would definitely like to hear from you.

Keep the pages turning!